118 Should medical people be required to take flu shots?

Comments

Tom Garrett 1 year, 3 months ago

This is not the first time this question has come up in the news, but the rampaging flu season has once again brought it to the fore. American hospitals are increasingly requiring doctors and nurses to get flu shots, and firing those who refuse.

"Where does it say that I am no longer a patient if I'm a nurse," asks Carrie Calhoun, a longtime critical care nurse in suburban Chicago who was fired last month after she refused a flu shot.

In Rhode Island, which has a mandatory vaccine policy for health care workers, more than 1,000 workers recently signed a petition opposing the policy. Their labor union has filed suit to get rid of the regulation.

The reason hospitals insist on flu shots is obvious, but just in case you have any doubts, Dr. Carolyn Bridges, associate director for adult immunization at the federal Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, says the strongest evidence in favor of them comes from studies in nursing homes, linking flu vaccination among health care workers with fewer patient deaths from all causes.

Cancer nurse Joyce Gingerich is among the skeptics and says her decision to avoid the shot is mostly "a personal thing." She's among seven employees at IU Health Goshen Hospital in northern Indiana who were recently fired for refusing flu shots. Gingerich said she gets other vaccinations but thinks it should be a choice. She opposes "the injustice of being forced to put something in my body."

And your feeling about it is...?

John Lemon 1 year, 3 months ago

Tom; Rather like Seat Belts or child innoculations prior to attending school, isn't it ! To comment directly: I would hate to think of my death being linked to a health worker who carried a virus. Wouldn't that be ironic?

Pat Randall 1 year, 3 months ago

There are more things to worry about health care workers than having them take flu shots.