179 Creationism cannot be taught in public schools.

Comments

Tom Garrett 1 year, 9 months ago

Is there anybody around here who would call me irreligious?

Is there anyone who doubts my faith?

Is there anyone who doesn't know that I am a scientist?

No? Good!

I have two things to comment on.

One: The meaning of the term "theory" when it is used in a scientific context as in the Theory of Evolution.

Two: Senate Bill 1213.

Let's take them one at a time. What does "theory" mean?

Here is how a hypothesis becomes a theory:

1. A question is posed.
  2. Data is gathered concerning the question.
  3. A hypothesis is posed to explain the data.
  4. Predictions are made whose purpose, if they can be shown to be true, is to verify the hypothesis.
  5. The predictions are tested, either by gathering more data, or by running experiments.
  6. When sufficient evidence to prove the hypothesis to be true is gathered, the hypothesis is upgraded to a theory.

In this context, "theory" no longer means the same thing it means when you and I use it in everyday usage to mean an educated guess or hypothesis; it means an accepted, proven explanation.

Anyone who uses the term "theory" in its non-scientific meaning while discussing a scientific theory like Evolution is not playing by the rules of polite and honest discussion. End of comment.

Now for Senate Bill 1213.

The offending thing about this bill is that it attempts to change the science classroom from a place where accepted science is taught, turning it into a place where unproven hypotheses or non-scientific ideas are discussed, and far worse that it violates the First Amendment rights of students to be free of religious instruction in a state operated schoolroom.

Here is the most offensive part of the bill: