10 Candidates Declare For Council


Payson's election ring is full of proverbial hats, with a total of 10 candidates vying for four seats on the Town Council.

By the filing deadline Wednesday, four mayoral candidates had volunteered to lead the town into the next century.

Jack Jasper, Steven Lanyi and Councilmember Ray Schum will challenge incumbent mayor Vern Stiffler, who is seeking his third two-year term in office next spring. Schum's four-year council term is up next year.

Council incumbents Barbara Brewer and Jack Monschein will seek re-election. Their challengers include Hilda Crawford, Ruby Finney, Bryan Siverson and Richard Wolfe.

The town's primary election is March 14, and residents have until Feb. 14 to register to vote. To win a seat in the primary election, candidates must garner 50-percent of the votes plus one. Races not decided in the primary will be decided in the general election May 16.

For information about early voting, call the clerk's office at Town Hall, 474-5242.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.