Smith, Bayo Win Memorial Tourney


Late each summer, members of the Payson Women's Golf Association gather on the local course to participate in a tournament played in honor of deceased club members.

Last week, local linkster Wilma Smith joined forces with Donna Bayo to capture the championship of the 1999 PWGA Memorial Tournament.

"It's a very special tournament for all of us," Smith said. "It was nice to win."

The victory was Smith's third memorial tournament triumph. For Bayo, it was her first.

In addition to being a member of the winning team, Smith pocketed closest-to-the-pin prize money for swatting to within 9 feet, 3 inches of the flag on hole 14.

In the tournament's two-person best-ball format, the pair carded a 54 to easily win the crown over runners-up Dee Orr and Dorothy Back who finished with a 59.

Back was also a closest-to-the-pin prizewinner, finishing 26 feet, 1 inch away on hole 8.

Bronze medalist tournament honors ---with a final tally of 61 ---went to the team of Jennie Stevens and Shirley Smith.

In fourth, carding a 61 were Blanche Nyberg and Ruth Overton.

Other tourney action
Other tournament action saw the PWGA members battle in a low-net-by-flight tournament held July 13.

In flight A, Joyce Karnes was first, Brenda Baker second and Mary Gillilan third. Karnes finished with a 68, Baker a 69 and Gillilan a 71.

The battle for the gold in B flight was not as hotly contested.

Posting a 65, Lynn Kools walked away with the title over runner-up Janie Nutting (69). Trailing the two flight leaders were Glenda Cook and Nancy Kisseberth. The two recorded identical scores of 71.

In C flight, Bayo shot her way to top-gun laurels cashing in on a very good tally of 65. Along the victory trail, she also picked up closest-to-the-pin pocket money on hole 5 with an effort that left her only 9 feet shy of an ace.

Trailing Bayo in the flight were Joan Johnson (67) and Doris Lemmage (68).

Iris Ortega was also a closest-to-the-pin champion, winning on hole 17 where she hit to within 4 feet 10 inches.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.