Phs Wrestling Awards Wednesday Night


Fresh off capturing the Class 3A state championship, the Longhorn wrestling team gathers tomorrow (Wednesday) to honor the athletes for their season-long accomplishments.

The awards ceremony, which includes cake and ice cream dessert and is open to the public, begins at 6:30 p.m. in the Payson Elementary School cafeteria.

The tradition surrounding the event has long included honoring the departing seniors, which this year includes Jimbo Armstrong, Doyle Van Horn, Justin Cline, Dustin Atteberry, Jerry Baker, Mike Wright and Dominic Polandri.

Also, varsity team members will receive their award letters and jayvees their certificates of participation. The event traditionally features several tongue-in-cheek awards to wrestlers, coaches and fans.

The highlight of the evening is the naming of the recipients of the Outstanding Wrestler, Most Improved and Tough Boot citations.

Arizona Coaches Association All-Star accolades will be given to Justin Cline, Van Horn and Armstrong. The three were recently named participants in the ACA North vs. South All-Star clash, which will be contested March 25 in Casa Grande.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.