Town Candidates To Square Off Tuesday In Public Forum


Payson's four candidates for mayor and six candidates for council will field pre-selected questions March 7 during a public forum at the Payson High School auditorium.

The forum, which is being sponsored by the high school speech and debate team, will be held from 6:30 p.m. to 8:30 p.m.

Candidates for mayor are Jack Jasper, Steven Lanyi, Councilmember Ray Schum and incumbent mayor Vern Stiffler. Candidates for the three open council positions are Hilda Crawford, Ruby Finney, Bryan Siverson, Dick Wolfe and council incumbents Barbara Brewer and Jack Monschein.

The Town of Payson's primary election will be held March 14. The deadline for early voting is 5 p.m. March 10 at Town Hall, 303 N. Beeline Highway. Early voting ballots dropped in the mail must arrive at Town Hall by March 14.

Although the deadline to apply to vote early has passed, there are special provisions in place for voters experiencing an emergency between 5 p.m. Friday, March 10 and 5 p.m. Monday, March 13. Anyone requiring special provisions can call the town clerk's office at 474-5242.

The town's general election will be held May 16. Polling places for the primary election are as follows:

District 1 -- First Assembly of God Church, 1100 W. Lake Drive, precincts 1 and 3;

District 2 -- Payson Town Hall, 303 N. Beeline Highway, precincts 2 and 6 and that portion of Star Valley Precinct which lies within the town's boundaries;

District 3 -- Arizona Public Service Building, 400 E. Longhorn Rd., precincts 7 and 8;

District 4 -- The Inn of Payson meeting room, 801 N. Beeline Highway, precincts 4 and 5.

Polls are open from 6 a.m. to 7 p.m. For information on the election or the election process, call the Town Clerk's Office at 474-5242 from 7 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday through Friday.

Gila County primary elections will be held Sept. 12 for the following positions: all three county supervisors; treasurer, recorder, assessor, superintendent of schools, one superior court judge, and county attorney.

Early primary voting begins Aug. 10. Voter registration deadline is Aug. 14.

Voter registration forms are available at the Payson post office, Payson Public Library, Arizona Motor Vehicles Division, State Department of Economic Security, the county assessor's office and Payson Town Hall.

Candidates must file with the county between May 15 and June 14. Candidate packets are available at the Gila County Elections Office.

The federal, state and county general elections will be held Nov. 7.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.