Where To Vote For Town, Presidential Primaries


Voters will go to the polls Tuesday, March 14 to cast their ballots for mayor and three Payson Town Council candidates.

Candidates for mayor are Jack Jasper, Steven Lanyi, Councilmember Ray Schum and incumbent Mayor Vern Stiffler. Candidates for the three open council positions are Hilda Crawford, Ruby Finney, Bryan Siverson, Dick Wolfe and council incumbents Barbara Brewer and Jack Monschein.

The deadline for early voting is 5 p.m. March 10 at Town Hall, 303 N. Beeline Highway. Early voting ballots dropped in the mail must arrive at Town Hall by March 14.

Anyone requiring special provisions to vote early can call the town clerk's office at 474-5242.

Polling places for the primary election are as follows:

District 1 -- First Assembly of God Church, 1100 W. Lake Drive, precincts 1 and 3;

District 2 -- Payson Town Hall, 303 N. Beeline Highway, precincts 2 and 6 and that portion of Star Valley Precinct which lies within the town's boundaries;

District 3 -- Arizona Public Service Building, 400 E. Longhorn Rd., precincts 7 and 8;

District 4 -- The Inn of Payson meeting room, 801 N. Beeline Highway, precincts 4 and 5.

The polls will be open from 6 a.m. to 7 p.m. For information on the election or the election process, call the Town Clerk's Office at 474-5242 from 7 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday through Friday.

The town's general election will be held May 16.

Historic online election

Registered Democrats with the required PIN numbers can vote in the country's first online presidential preference election. Online-experienced Democrats can cast online ballots during business hours Tuesday through Friday in the Payson, Pine and Young libraries.

Polls will be open for both online and paper balloting from 10 a.m. to 7 p.m. Saturday at the Payson, Tonto Basin, Young and Miami libraries, Hayden Town Hall and at the Gila County Supervisors' Auditorium in the Gila County Courthouse in Globe.

Democrats with access to computers do not need to vote at a library or at one of the polling places during the election. Democrats statewide will be able to use the PIN number mailed to them to gain access to Election.com in order to vote anytime between 12:01 a.m. Tuesday, March 7 and 11:59 p.m. Friday, March 10, or at the polls on March 11.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.