Countdown To Town Primary


Voters will go to the polls Tuesday, March 14 to cast their ballots for mayor and three Payson Town Council candidates.

Candidates for mayor are Jack Jasper, Steven Lanyi, Councilmember Ray Schum and incumbent Mayor Vern Stiffler. Candidates for the three open council positions are Hilda Crawford, Ruby Finney, Bryan Siverson, Dick Wolfe and council incumbents Barbara Brewer and Jack Monschein.

The deadline for early voting is 5 p.m. March 10 at Town Hall, 303 N. Beeline Highway. Early voting ballots dropped in the mail must arrive at Town Hall by March 14.

Anyone requiring special provisions to vote early can call the town clerk's office at 474-5242.

Polling places for the primary election are as follows:

District 1 -- First Assembly of God Church, 1100 W. Lake Drive, precincts 1 and 3;

District 2 -- Payson Town Hall, 303 N. Beeline Highway, precincts 2 and 6 and that portion of Star Valley Precinct which lies within the town's boundaries;

District 3 -- Arizona Public Service Building, 400 E. Longhorn Rd., precincts 7 and 8;

District 4 -- The Inn of Payson meeting room, 801 N. Beeline Highway, precincts 4 and 5. See the map at right for district boundaries.

The polls will be open from 6 a.m. to 7 p.m. For information on the election or the election process, call the Town Clerk's Office at 474-5242 from 7 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday through Friday.

Look for complete results in the Roundup's special primary election summary report on selected Rim Review racks around town.

The town's general election will be held May 16.

Polling change

Registered Democrats with the required PIN numbers can vote in the country's first online presidential preference election. Online-experienced Democrats can cast online ballots during business hours today (Friday) in the Payson, Pine and Young libraries. They can cast their votes at by following the instructions on the Web site.

Although polling places were to be available throughout the county for both online and paper balloting Saturday, the polling places accepting electronic and paper ballots have been reduced to the Gila County Supervisors' Auditorium in the Gila County Courthouse in Globe and the Payson Public Library.

Paper ballots can be cast Saturday at the Hayden Town Hall, Miami Library and the Young Library.

Polls will be open from 10 a.m. to 7 p.m. Saturday.

Democrats with access to computers do not need to vote at a library or at one of the polling places during the election. Democrats statewide will be able to use the PIN number mailed to them to gain access to in order to vote anytime between 12:01 a.m. Tuesday, March 7 and 11:59 p.m. Friday, March 10, or at the polls on March 11.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.