Landra Wins Again


Opting to walk the course rather than ride in a cart, a wily veteran swung her way to one of the most prestigious tournament championships of the Payson Women's Golf Association season.

Marge Landra a 20-year member of the PWGA who has won 12 championships out-dueled Joyce Karnes and Laura Meyocks, to claim the 2000 crown. The 36-hole shoot-out was contested Oct. 9 and 11 at Payson Golf Course.

In copping the title, Landra carded a gross 168.

Medalists after the first round of play included Blanche Nyberg (low net; 69) and Karnes (low gross; 86).

Karnes also won the A flight championship finishing with a net 141.

Gerry Quisenberry claimed the B flight crown with a 141. In C flight, Joyce Goff emerged the crown bearer tallying a 144.

Wilma Smith's 144 was good enough to win the D flight title.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.