Armer Shoots Down Mccarthy In Showdown For Sheriff's Star


John Armer beat Dennis McCarthy Tuesday by nearly 1,000 votes in the Democratic primary for Gila County Sheriff, earning the right to run against Republican Art Stone in the general election Nov. 7.

Armer earned 2,909 votes, McCarthy received 1,941 votes and Stone, who was unopposed in the Republican primary, brought in 1,577 votes.

Incumbent Gila County Supervisor Cruz Salas beat Shirley Dawson in the Democratic primary for District 3 supervisor by a vote of 1,339 to 957. Dawson will face Leonard Miglorisi in the November race. Miglorisi, who ran unopposed in the Republican primary, received 264 votes.

Republican James Hazel and Democratic incumbent Jerry DeRose ran unopposed in their respective primaries for Gila County Attorney. Hazel received 1,574 votes and DeRose earned 3,832 votes. They will square off against each other in the general election.

Seven other Gila County incumbents are unopposed for re-election and will automatically advance to the general election ballot. They are:

Armida Bittner (Dem.) school superintendent

Ron Christensen (Rep.) supervisor for Dist. 1, which includes the Rim country 972 votes

Edward Dawson (Dem.) superior court judge 3,850 votes

Edward "Bunch" Guerrero (Dem.) Dist. 2 supervisor 1,620 votes

Dale Hom (Dem.) assessor 4,109

Priscilla Knuckey-Ralls (Dem.) treasurer 4,097 votes

Linda Haught Ortega (Dem.) recorder 4,168 votes

Commenting has been disabled for this item.