Two Late Entries Round Out Council Slate


Two more candidates for Town Council filed the necessary paperwork with Payson Town Clerk Silvia Smith before the 5 p.m. Wednesday deadline and will appear on the ballot in the March 12 primary election.

The latest entries are Andy Kaiser and Dick Reese. They will square off against the four candidates who previously qualified Judy Buettner, Robert Henley, Ken Knapp and John Wilson for three vacancies on the council .

No new candidates for mayor filed by the deadline, which means Councilmember Ken Murphy, Diane Sexton and Jim White will compete for that office. Mayor Ray Schum is not seeking re-election.

In brief position statements submitted to the Roundup, Kaiser and Reese explained their decisions to enter the race:

Andy Kaiser

A retired businessman who moved to the Rim country in 1994, Andy Kaiser said he wants to "participate in the development of a prosperous Payson as an economic hub of Northern Gila County; provide planning for Payson's growth consistent with positive development of water resources; respond to Payson resident's needs with respect to infrastructure (roads and utilities); encourage commercial and retail activity as well as light industry; help promote further development of a skilled workforce, examine the financial resources of the town and provide planning to assure continued financial strength."

Dick Reese

Also a retiree, Dick Reese has owned a home in the Rim country since 1978, moving to Payson full-time five years ago. Reese said his business background will enable him to help the town manage change. His priorities include a closer working relationship with Gila County, "establishing the facts concerning our water supply and (developing) plans to assure uninterrupted service consistent with reasonable growth and consumption goals, and reaching out to all segments of our townspeople our youth, our seniors and business owners listening, learning, responding, and representing."

The three winners in the council race will replace Murphy, Hoby Herron and Jim Spencer, whose terms are expiring.

Voter registration deadline is 5 p.m. Feb. 11, 2002.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.