Postseason Awards To Cap 2001 Season


Season-ending award ceremonies are usually a great deal of fun for everyone. They are also a source of great pride.

Mom and Dad can revel in the accomplishments of their children, and the athletes have the opportunity to reap the rewards of their sweat. That can usually mean anything from a freshman certificate of participation to post-season all-star honors.

Thrilled youngsters who earn their first varsity letter can finally buy a school letter jacket. That in itself, is a source of immense pride.

For coaches, the events are a chance to praise their team members and reflect upon what the program was trying to accomplish the past season. Coaches also usually set the stage for the next season.

With basketball and wrestling seasons at an end, it's time for the 2000-2001 ceremonies.

The wrestling awards will be at 6:30 p.m. Feb. 27 in the Payson Elementary School cafeteria. Varsity letters, junior varsity certificates, post-season honors and good natured, tongue-in-cheek citations will be awarded by coaches Dennis Pirch, Doug Eckhardt, Dave LaMotte and Bob Hoyt.

The girls basketball ceremony has been slated for 6:30 p.m. March 1 in the PES cafeteria. First-year coach Shaun Hardt, the East region's coach of the year, will oversee the festivities.

One of the highlights of the evening will be the announcement of the players voted in the All-East team.

Because Payson finished the regional runner-up, the Lady Horns could be in line for a roster full of honorees.

The boys basketball ceremony is scheduled for 6:30 p.m. March 6, also at PES. Coach Dave Bradley, also the PHS Athletic Director, will head the event. Bradley assumed coaching duties of the Longhorn program late in the season after former coach Randy Wilcox resigned.

Freshman and jayvee team members will receive participation certificates. Varsity team members earn letters. Bradley will also announce the boys players who earned postseason honors.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.