Roundup Wins Three-Peat For 'Newspaper Of Year'


The Payson Roundup was named Arizona Newspaper of the Year for non-dailies the third consecutive year the local newspaper has been awarded the state's highest honor.

The Roundup also racked up the competition's General Excellence Award for the fourth year in a row, as well as a number of first-place awards for its size category all of which were announced at the Arizona Newspapers Foundation's annual Better Newspapers Contest awards ceremony, held Saturday in Scottsdale.

The first-place honors included General/Departmental News Coverage, Page Design Excellence, Editorial Page Excellence, Best Special Section, and Newspaper On-line Site / Web Page.

For the second consecutive year, The Rim Review also won first place in the category of Newspaper Supplement-Magazine, where it competes against all non-daily newspapers in the state.

Individual first-place honors were won by reporters Mike Burkett (Best Column, Feature or Human Interest) and Max Foster (Best Team Sports Beat Coverage), as well as the newspaper's publisher, Richard Haddad (Best News Photograph, Best Feature Photo Layout).

Burkett, Foster and reporter Jim Keyworth and the newspaper's former editor, Katy Whitehouse, also won a number of second- and third-place awards for writing.

More than 400 awards were given in 21 categories. There were 1,577 entries submitted by 57 newspapers.

The number of participating newspapers was the highest since 1997, when 62 newspapers submitted entries.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.