Winter Schedules To Change


Payson High School Athletic Director Dave Bradley has been forced to make several last-minute changes in the Longhorn winter sports schedules. The changes were due to a number of circumstances beyond the control of school officials.

If you are one of those with a newer version of the schedules, discard them for the up-to-date schedules. We'll publish the most recent schedules in upcoming editions of the Roundup.

Elks hoop shoot

The Elks National Free Throw Contest tips off at 8:30 a.m. Dec. 13 in the Tonto Apache gymnasium. Immediately after a short registration period, the competition begins.

Elk officials urge participants to show up on time for the event. Those who arrive late will not be allowed to compete.

According to the Elks, more than three million youngsters from 50 states annually compete in the shoot. The contest is open, free of charge, to boys and girls ages 8 to 13 years.

In the shoot, the entrants compete in two divisions, boys or girls, and three age groups - 8-9, 10-11 and 12-13 years. Groups are determined by the youngster's ages on April 1, 2004.

According to contest rules, all contestants are allowed 10 minutes of warm-up which is to be followed by five practice free throws. Then, each contestant shoots 10 free throws. After all youngsters in each age/sex group have completed their initial 10 shots, they are given 15 additional attempts. Each individual's scored is based on 25 shots.

Winners are determined by the most successful shot attempts. In case of ties, five additional shots are awarded to determine first, second and third place in each of the age/sex groups.

The six Payson Elks Lodge champions, one boy and one girl in each division, will be eligible to participate in the Elks district competition. Most district contests feature from five to 12 lodge champions going head-to-head against one another. The six finalist in each district contest earn the right to participate in the state shoot. State winners are awarded berths in the national finals.

The name of the national champions are displayed in the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame in Springfield, Mass.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.