Nicholas, Mallett Shoot To Pmga Championship


Red-hot action in the Payson Men's Golf Association's first major tournament of the season wrapped up with Don Nicholas and Tom Mallett staking claim to the overall two-day championship.

In the two-man best ball format, Nicholas and Mallett carded a 118 that was two strokes better than the runner-up teams of Benny Burns and Jim Dalgleish and Morris Kropf and Armand Werle. The runners-up turned in identical scores of 120.

The winning team of Nicholas and Mallett finished first in the second flight at the end of the first day of tournament play. On the second day, the two were not among the top three finishers. Their combined scores, however, were good enough for the tourney title.

First day winners in the first flight were Mike McKee and Rick Korth with a 54. The team of John Peel and Dick Harding tied with Tim Ernst and Ralph Lindo with tallies of 59. On a scorecard playoff, Peel and Harding claimed second place and Ernst and Lindo fell to third.

In the second flight on opening day, Jack Gibbs and Wayne Little finished as silver medalist with a 57. A tally of 59 earned Kropf and Werle third-place honors.

On the second day of play, McKee and Korth again won the first flight. Their tally of 55 was three strokes better than that of runners-up Burns and Dalgleish (57). In third place was Don Castleman and Jack Greenshield (59).

In the second flight on the second day, Don Gyde and Bob Hendrie took first with a 55. Second place went to Dean Bulkley and Sid Egler (57). Finishing third were Herb Sherman and Doug Talbot with 59.

Closest to the pin

According to PMGA member Bud Drummond, closest-to-the-pin competition was held on the second day only.

Winners included Wayne Little (2nd hole, 10 feet 11 inches and 14th hole, 5 feet 5 inches), John Waring (5th hole, 8 feet 8 inches), Tim Ernst (8th hole, 7 feet 2 inches) and Mike McKee (17th hole, 10 feet 4 inches).

The next major tournaments on the PMGA agenda are the Club Championship, Aug. 20, and the President's Cup, Oct. 1.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.