Prmc Gets National Accreditation


Payson Regional Medical Center (PRMC) has achieved accreditation from the Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations.

Patient safety and care

Joint commission accreditation means that PRMC's laboratory has demonstrated compliance with national standards for patient safety and quality of care.

"We view obtaining Joint Commission accreditation as another step towards achieving excellence," PRMC CEO Chris Wolf said.

"This accreditation process helps promote continuous, systematic and organization-wide improvement in health care organizations," Executive Director of the Joint Commission Joanne Born said. "Achieving accreditation demonstrates Payson Regional Medical Center's commitment to providing high quality and safe services."

The award of accreditation is for a two-year period.

Founded in 1951, the Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations seeks to improve the safety and quality of care provided to the public through an accreditation process.

An independent, not-for-profit organization, the Joint Commission is the nation's oldest and largest standards-setting, accrediting body in health care.

The commission evaluates and accredits nearly 17,000 health care organizations and programs in the United States, including about 9,000 hospitals and home care organizations.


PRMC has also been awarded a three-year term of accreditation in mammography as the result of a recent survey by the American College of Radiology.

The American College of Radiology (ACR), awards accreditation to facilities for the achievement of high practice standards after a peer-review evaluation of its practice.

The evaluations are done by board-certified physicians who are experts in their field. They assess the qualifications of the personnel and the adequacy of facility equipment and report their findings to the ACR's Committee on Accreditation.

The ACR is a national organization serving more than 32,000 diagnostic radiologists, radiation oncologists and medical physicists with programs focusing on medical imaging and radiation oncology.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.