Phs Rodeo Team Gearing Up For State Finals


With the state high school rodeo finals on the near horizon, Jason Amon and John Ewing have been named to the Wrangler High School All-Star Rodeo Team.

Amon, who will be a senior at Payson High School next year, competes in team roping, calf roping and saddle bronc. Ewing, who graduated with the class of 2003 last weekend, competes in team roping.


Jason Amon competes in saddle bronc at a National High School Rodeo Association event earlier this year. Amon and John Ewing have been named to the Wrangler High School All Star Rodeo Team.

The high school finals will be held in Globe June 13 to 15, with the top four finishers in each event moving on to the National High School Rodeo in Farmington, N.M. July 20-26.

In addition to Amon and Ewing, several members of the PHS rodeo team hope to qualify for the national event. They include Lara Baker in barrels and Garrett Riggins in saddle bronc.

"I know Jason will qualify in bareback because he's sitting four points out of first place right now," his father, Mike Amon, said. "Lara Baker is pushing hard to go back, too. She's in third place right now."

Amon and Riggins also have qualified for the International Youth Rodeo Association finals in July in Shawnee, Okla. Then the new season begins in September.

"It's pretty much 12 months a year," Mike Amon said.

The Wrangler High School All-Star Rodeo Team is fashioned after Wrangler's Champion Pro Rodeo Team. Members are selected based on leadership and academic ability as well as rodeo achievements.

Members of the high school all-star team receive official competition apparel consisting of Wrangler Twenty X shirts embroidered with the team logo and two pairs of competition jeans. In addition, team members receive an official team certificate signed by rodeo greats Jim Shoulders and Ty Murray.

The National High School Rodeo Association, which began as a single event in Halletsville, Tex. in 1947, now features more than 10,000 members and 1,250 sanctioned rodeos in 39 states, five Canadian provinces and Australia.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.