Roundup Named Newspaper Of The Year For Fifth Year


Last year's most honored newspapers repeated the feat in 2003 and were named Arizona Newspapers of the Year for 2003 by the Arizona Newspaper Association Saturday.

The Payson Roundup and The Arizona Republic earned the Newspaper of the Year designations due to their high ranking in a number of writing, photography and advertising awards categories. The Roundup won in the non-daily division and the Republic won in the daily division.

This is the fifth consecutive year the Roundup has brought home the Arizona Newspaper Association's highest honor for all non-daily newspapers in the state.

"Very good newspaper. The Payson Roundup does a nice job of covering a wide variety of news areas -- local, sports, features, community interest, opinions," said one of the judges. "The headlines are nice and clean, the leads are compelling, the news is packaged in such a way to draw reader interest."

The Roundup also received first places for general excellence in its circulation category, news writing excellence, departmental news coverage, page design excellence, and newspaper online web page. A second place was received by the paper for editorial page excellence and a third place for its supplement, The Rim Review.

"This is a great newspaper team," said Publisher Richard Haddad. "I'm so proud to work with them. I've watched them pour every ounce of creativity into this product for seven years and it's paying off."

The Roundup staff was also honored for a variety of individual efforts.

First-place awards went to Max Foster for best sports story; Jim Keyworth for best column in the analysis and commentary category; and Richard Haddad for best sports photograph and best feature photo.

Second-place honors went to Teresa McQuerrey for best lifestyle feature story; Haddad, best column in the feature or critique category; and Dennis Fendler, best sports photograph.

Third-place awards went to Foster for both best sports story and best team, sport or sports beat coverage; Kelly Crowley for best news feature story; and Haddad for best news photograph and best feature photo layout.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.