Ex-Prep Coach Claims Pmga Club Crown


Former Tempe High School football and golf coach John Pauley has swung his way to the Payson Men's Golf Association Club championship. The tournament, which is one of the three most prestigious on the PMGA trail, was last week at Payson Golf Course.

Pauley, now retired, is a three-time winner of the award.

Other champions by flight included Mike Curtis (2nd), Frank Karnes (3rd), Dick Ceyler (4th) and Jack Gibbs (5th).

In a putting contest held in conjunction with the club championship, Rick Korth out dueled runner-up Troy Neal for top honors.

Those players not involved in the club championship finals clashed in a three-man scramble. With a card of 59.8, Jim Dalgleish, Bud Drummond and

Tony Mularski finished first.

Hot on the heels of the champions with a 60 was the trio of Herb Sherman, Bob Hendrie and Korth.

Jack Greenshield, Dean Bulkley, Tom Eaglesham and Bob Gardner took third with a 61.4. Due to the large number of entrants into the scramble, the bronze medal team sported one additional player.

Closest-to-the-pin prize money winners were Warren Mulcahy (No. 2; 19 feet), Eaglesham (No. 5; 5 feet), Tim Ernst (No. 8; 6 feet 1 inch), and two-time champ Herb Sherman (No. 14; 16 feet 1 inch and No. 17; 9 feet, 7 inches).

PMGA partners with PWGA

In a Jack and Jill two-partner best ball tournament, Joyce Karnes and John Calderwood tied for first place with the team of Mary Gillilan and Jim Dalgleish. The two teams carded identical scores of 58.

Janice Barnes and Rick Korth were second with a 59.

Posting a tally of 60, Wilma Smith and Herb Sherman nailed down a bronze medal showing.

Closest-to-the-pin winners were Doug Talbot (No.5; 10 feet, 6 inches), Harry Parsons (No. 8; 7 feet, 1 inch), Dorothy Meek (No. 14; 7 feet, 2 inches) and Janice Burns (No. 17; 7 feet 6 inches).

No putting

In a fewest putts tournament hosted by the PWGA, Joyce Karnes toured the 18 holes with just 31 putts to win the A flight title. In the B flight, Dorothy Meeks' 30 putts were good enough for first place. Wilma Smith swatted 35 putts over the course to win C flight honors.

The only closest-to-the-pin winner was Dorothy Meeks who left her tee shot on No. 17, four feet shy of the flag.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.