Cly Sinks Ace, Misses Out On Prize Money


Had Kato Cly sunk his ace 12 holes earlier in the 8th Annual Pioneer Title Golf Tournament, he'd now be $25,000 richer.

Cly's hole-in-one Aug. 21 at Payson Golf Course was on par 3 No. 14. The hole-in-one contest was on No. 2.


Mark Monty (left) of Pioneer Title congratulates Kato Cly for his hole-in-one during the Pioneer Title Golf Tournament.

Although Cly didn't pocket the cash, he did receive a new set of golf clubs from Pioneer Title.

Prizes also were awarded to Gene Dash for the longest putt on No. 18, to Brenda Cornell for longest drive among the lady players and to Aaron Watkins for the longest drive among the men.

Dash received a barbecue donated by Land American, Cornell picked up a month's gift certificate from Curves and Watkins received a box of Titleist Pro V balls from the Tonto Apaches. Jason Schwein was presented a trophy for his closest-to-the-pin tee shot on No. 8.

In team play, the foursome of Tommy Flynn, Wes Lasiter, Bruce Rasch and Aaron Watkins took top honors by winning a chip-off tie breaker against the team of Don Hamman, Willie Ingram, Dan Svir and Mark Svir. Both foursomes finished regulation play 18 under par.


The team of Tommy Flynn, Wes Lasiter, Bruce Rasch and Aaron Watkins won the 8th Annual Pioneer Title Golf Tournament in a chip-off.

Third-place honors went to Patrick James, Karen Shaw, Berkley Welsh and Dash.

Mike McDonald, Blair Meggitt, Jesse Smith and Schwein were fourth.

For finishing last, the Pioneer Title Agency in Prescott received frozen turkeys donated by Safeway. The team donated the birds to the St. Vincent De Paul Food Bank.

The benefit tournament drew teams from Prescott, Sierra Vista and the Valley.

A post-tournament lunch was catered by Cucina Paradiso and underwritten by Payson Concrete.

All proceeds from the tournament will be donated to the Payson Area Habitat for Humanity.

Tournament Director Mark Monty said the event was a success and said he was extremely grateful to the many Payson merchants and individuals who donated prizes.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.