Marana Wrestles To Van Horn Title

Wilbanks, Lee continue winning streak


The Payson Longhorns came up 30 points shy of staking claim to the Tim Van Horn Memorial Wrestling Tournament championship crown.

With 340 points, the Horns finished second in the team standings behind Marana Mountain View (370).

Although the Horns had to settle for runner-up honors in the tournament Jan. 23 and 24 in Wilson Dome, the team did produce four weight-class championships and one silver medalist.

Payson weight division champions included Porter Wilbanks (105), Brad Wilembrecht (121), Larry Wilbanks (162) and Nate Lee (173).

With Larry Wilbanks and Lee's victories, the pair remained undefeated this season.

Sophomore Tyler Goodman (114) advanced to the championship round, but a loss there forced him to settle for second place.

At the post tournament awards ceremony, Porter Wilbanks was named the outstanding wrestler in the lower weight classes. Lee won the outstanding wrestler award for the upper weight classes.

A Window Rock wrestler copped the outstanding wrestler trophy for middle weights.

Larry Wilbanks was awarded the prestigious Tim Van Horn Memorial Championship trophy.

Trailing Marana and Mountain View in the final team standings were third place Higley (265) and fourth place Tempe (263).

(See the Jan. 30 edition of the Payson Roundup for complete tournament details.)

Commenting has been disabled for this item.