New Mayor, Councilors Sworn In


Newly-elected Payson Mayor Barbara Brewer and three councilors will be officially sworn in at 4 p.m. today in the offices of town attorney Sam Streichman. The councilors include George Barriger, Tim Fruth and John Wilson.

Although tonight's swearing-in is the official event, the new mayor and councilors will participate in another at the June 10 town council meeting.



Tonight's swearing-in must take place because state law requires new councilors and a mayor must be sworn in 24 hours before they can make an official act.

The council's first official act will be to elect a vice mayor to replace Brewer who has held the position the past two years.

At a special budget meet June 3 in council chambers, the three new councilors attended but only listened to the proposed budget that was presented by Town Manager Fred Carpenter and Chief Financial Officer Glen Smith.

Barriger, Fruth and Wilson were elected in an early-March primary.

Fruth chalked up 3,275 votes or 77.1 percent of those cast. Wilson finished with 2,736 (64.4 percent) and Barriger had 2,3436 (57.3 percent). With 1,960 votes (46.1 percent) Vernon Randall was eliminated.

In the primary, Brewer led with 1,967 votes (47.2 percent) but came up just short of being elected.

Jim Chase, a former town councilor, finished second with 1,045 votes (25.1 percent). The two advanced to a May 18 run-off election.

Current Mayor Ken Murphy (624 votes) and Diane Sexton (529) did not receive enough votes to be included in the run-off.

In the run off, Brewer defeated Chase by a 297-vote margin.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.