Voters To Choose Between Brewer And Chase

Barriger, Fruth and Wilson will be new council members


After counting votes cast between 5 p.m. and 7 p.m., Tuesday, as well as the first ballots sent out, town clerk Silvia Smith announced the final results Thursday afternoon.

"There will be a run-off between mayoral candidates Barbara Brewer and Jim Chase," Smith said. "George Barriger, Tim Fruth and John Wilson will be our new council members."

With 1,967 votes, Brewer was a little more than 100 votes shy of a concise victory. Chase followed with 1,045 votes.

Mayor Ken Murphy got 624 votes, and Diana Sexton, 529.

Barriger received 2,436 votes, Wilson, 2,736 votes, and Tim Fruth pulled in a whopping 3,275 votes. Vernon Randall came in last with a respectable 1,960 votes.

Final Vote Count

Mayoral Candidates

Barbara Brewer 1,967
Jim Chase 1,045
Ken Murphy 624
Diana Sexton 529

Council Candidates

Tim Fruth 3,275
John Wilson 2,736
George Barriger 2,436
Vernon Randall 1,960

For complete election results see the Friday, March 12 edition of the Payson Roundup.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.