Cooper Scholarship Awarded To 3 Seniors



Three Payson High School seniors received a $2,200 Scholarship from the 8th Annual Rusty Cooper Memorial Scholarship Golf Tournament. To date, this tournament has awarded $27, 600 to 12 students.

Rusty Cooper's dream was to be a teacher. After 20 years working as an electrician, Cooper went back to school to fulfill his dream. He hoped to teach in Payson. On Nov. 2, 1996, a few months prior to graduation, he died of a heart attack at the age of 44. He was awarded his diploma posthumously.


Billy Bob Hoyt, Sarah Christensen, and Shea Hatch received $2,200 scholarships from the Rusty Cooper Scholarship Fund.

Cooper would have been proud of these seniors.

First place in the tournament was awarded to Jim Babb; first-place winner in the women's division was Mary Klinzing. Longest drive men: Mike Kerner. Longest drive women: Mary Klinzing. Closest to the pin: Ray McDonald. Best Attire went to Stan Szczepanski. Miscellaneous awards went to Liana Pearsall and Power Webb.

Thanks to all sponsors, contributors, and players. Thanks to Margo Holmes, Shelly Hansen, Jan Thompson, Betty Gordon, and Karen Thorton for helping the day of the tournament.

Special Thanks to Courtesy Chevrolet for providing the 2004 vehicle for the Hole-in-One Contest.

HOA meeting

The Christopher Creek Homeowners Association will be having its semi-annual meeting in the community room of the fire station at 10 a.m., Saturday, May 29. Items on the agenda include

the water situation in Christopher Creek and the fall recall election of the Christopher/ Kohl's Fire Board. There will also be a bake sale during the meeting. Drop off your bake goods before the meeting.

The community room is in need of new carpet. Anyone who can help out can give the fire station a call at (928) 478-4011.


Happy birthday to the following residents:

Susan Rhodes (June 1); Kaitlyn Armistead (June 2); Sandra Coolidge (June 4); Terry Diehl (June 5); Marilyn Lamb (June 6); Power Webb and Vicki Grootegoed (June 12); Michael Hannum (June 13); Tyler Kilbourne (June 14); Louise Reynolds (June 18); Jack Kalmer (June 23); Nancy Olson (June 24); Alice Lawlin (June 29) and Scotty Vaneckhoutle (June 30).

Tuesday nights Ladies Nine Ball winners are first place -- Michelle Grundy, second place -- Lorraine Matthews, third place -- Nancy Olson. Congratulations, ladies.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.