Voters Elect First Women To Board Of Supervisors


Supervisors-elect Tommie Cline Martin and Shirley Dawson will not be the first women to lead the county.



"About 80 years ago a woman filled out her husband's term" Martin said.

But Martin and Dawson are the first women the voters have elected to the Board of Supervisors for Gila County since.

Martin, a Republican, received 71 percent of the votes in District One to Democrat Jim Whitely's 29 percent. Dawson, a Democrat, garnered 68 percent of the votes in District Three. Republican Bill Fogle took 31 percent.

"I am honored and humbled and thrilled to have picked up 71 percent," Martin said. "I am so pleased with the support I was given and the voter confidence, and I take the responsibility it represents very seriously."

Dawson said she promises to be a hard worker for the residents of Gila County and said everyone is always welcome to call her.



Incumbent Gila County Sheriff, Democrat John Armer, will remain in office. Armer won with 54 percent over Republican challenger Kim Pound's 46 percent.

"I deeply appreciate the confidence the voters have shown me," Armer said. "I'm disappointed it was such a negative campaign that didn't focus on the issues."

Republican challenger Linda O'Dell unseated incumbent county school superintendent Armida Bittner by 53 percent to 47 percent.

"I am so grateful for the support I have been shown throughout the county," O'Dell said.

The Payson region's constable post was won by Republican Sam Brewer with 66 percent of the votes. Democrat Roger Freeman had 34 percent.

Winning college board posts were Ron Christensen, Larry Stephenson, Michael Pastor, Robert Ashford, and Bernadette Kniffin.

Dixie Mundy, the county's director of elections, said voter turnout was 67 percent.

Republican Rep. Rick Renzi will continue to represent Arizona's 1st District.

Renzi won 95 percent of the polls reporting, according to information from the Arizona Secretary of State's office. Democratic challenger Paul Babbitt received 80,934 votes, with 11,968 ballots cast for Libertarian John Crockett.

Gila County will be represented in the Arizona Legislature by GOP candidate Jake Flake in the senate, and Democrat Jack Brown and Republican Bill Konopnicki in the house. Flake had 31,338 votes to Democratic challenger Cameron Udall's 25,589.

Konopnicki was given 30,903 votes and Brown had 25,380 ballots cast in his favor. Republican Sylvia Allen earned 24,840 votes.

"I congratulate everyone who ran, because making a decision to run and putting your life into that is not an easy thing to do," Gov. Janet Napolitano said in a phone interview with the Roundup.

The election results will remain unofficial until canvassed by the Gila County Board of Supervisors.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.