Meyocks, Castleman Win Local Tournaments


The Payson Men's and Women's Golf Associations recently hosted the two organizations' most prestigious tournaments of the summer and fall season.

The PWGA played its annual Club Championship Oct. 5 which was won by Laura Meyocks. The PMGA crowned Don Castleman the President's Cup champion.

In the two-day club championship, Meyocks took low-gross honors after the first round with a card of 82. Her two-day total of 171 earned her the PWGA title.

In low-net play, Joyce Karnes took a lead the first day with a 69 and coasted to the Flight A championship by posting a 146.

In flight B, Judy Neal and Kay Davies tied for the gold medal with identical scores of 147. Blanche Nyberg's 146 earned her the flight C crown.

Closest-to-the-pin winners were Jan Burns (No. 17; 41 feet, 4 inches), Glenda Cook (No. 14; 18 feet 2 inches) and Karnes (No 8; 33 feet, 9 inches).

In other PWGA action, a 6-6-6 formatted tournament was won by the foursome of Mary Cain, Jan Burns, Kay Davis and Wilma Smith. The team carded a 120.

PWGA member Alesha Calderwood explained the format as one in which each team's best ball is played on the first six holes, the next six holes and the final six.

Closest-to-the-pin winners were Mary Jones (No. 14; 13 feet, 3 inches) and Burns (No. 8; 13 feet, 4 inches).

In a low-net tournament played Sept. 28 Karnes finished with a 68 to win Flight A laurels. Meyocks trailed in second place with a 73.

Calderwood outdueled Neal for the flight B crown. Calderwood finished at 75 and Neal had a 77.

In flight C, Kay Davis claimed the crown with a 77. Glenda Cook's 82 was good enough for the silver medal.

Wilma Smith and Ginny Barnes tied for the flight D championship. Both posted scores of 81. Jones (No. 4; 24 feet) and Meyocks (No. 17; 33 feet, 8 inches) pocketed closest-to-the-pin prize money.

PMGA plays President Cup

The annual president's showdown was contested Sept. 22 and 29 at Payson Golf Course.

Castleman's greatest competition in the first flight came from runner-up Tim Ernst who posted a 127.

John Waring and Troy Neal both had 130s to tie for third place. Waring was awarded the bronze and Neal fell to fourth on a scorecard playoff. John Pauley was in fifth place with a 132.

Top finishers in the second flight included Ed Flores (first; 131), Dick Harding (second; 134), Herb Sherman (third; 135), Len Niedens (fourth; 136) and Jim Rhoades (fifth; 138).

John Calderwood (first; 133), Tony Legault (second; 136), Bobby Bryant (third; 137), Morris Kropf (fourth; 137) and Jim Furimsky (fifth; 141) swung their way to third-flight honors. Bryant took third on a scorecard playoff with Kropf.

On the first day of the tournament, closest-to-the-pin winners were Larry Baker (No. 2; 2 feet, 7 inches), Tom Castas (No. 8; 6 feet, 8 inches), Frank Szakal (No. 17; 4 feet, 11 inches), Neal (No. 14; 6 feet) and Waring (No. 5; 4 feet, 11 inches).

Closest-to-the-pin winners on the tournaments second 18 holes were Jim McCutcheon (No. 14; 3 feet, 10 inches), Pauley (No. 2; 30 feet, 10 inches), Szakal (No. 5; 13 feet, 9 inches), Neal (No. 8; 12 feet, 3 inches) and Ernst (No. 17; 7 feet, 11 inches).

Commenting has been disabled for this item.