Election Results: Martin, Whitely In Runoff For Supervisor




Tommie Cline Martin pulled out ahead in the Republican race for the Gila County Supervisor seat for District 1.

Endorsed by retiring Northern Gila County Supervisor Ron Christensen, Martin had 966 ballots cast in her favor; with 903 going to Dan Haapala and 303 for Gene Mawby. No Democrats officially entered the Dist. 1 contest. However there was a Democrat seeking a write-in nomination. Sydney "Jim" Whitely received 60 votes, giving him a spot on the General Election ballot and forcing a runoff with Martin.



Results from Tuesday's Primary remain unofficial until formally canvassed by the board of supervisors on Tuesday, Sept.14.

Incumbent Supervisor Joe Sanchez won his race for Dist. 2. Sanchez had 1,027 votes to Danny Michaels' 950 and Ernest Valdez's 222. All three are Democrats, there were no official Republican candidates in the race.

The four-way race among Democrats for the Dist. 3 Supervisor's seat went to Shirley Dawson, with 874 votes. She was followed by Robert L. Mounce with 724 votes; Terry Wheeler with 395; and Ted Thayer with 140. Write-in Republican candidate Bill Fogel had 114 votes to put him on the November ballot for the Dist. 3 Supervisor's seat.



Gila County Sheriff's Race

In the sheriff's race, Republican Kim Pound had 2,021 ballots cast in his favor over Richard Shaw's 1,353. Pound will now face the incumbent John Armer, who had 4,319 votes.



Payson Regional Constable

Republican Sam Brewer beat incumbent Gail Palmateer for the chance to contend for the Payson Regional Constable office against Democrat Roger Freeman. Brewer had 1,481 to Palmateer's 1,280. Freeman garnered 980 votes.

Dist. 1 U.S. Representative



Gila County Democrats want to see Paul Babbitt challenge Republican incumbent Rick Renzi for the Dist. 1 U.S. Representative's job.

Babbitt received 3,127 Gila County votes to Democrat Bob Donahue's 1,656. Renzi had 3,554 votes cast. The Libertarian candidate for the job, John Crockett, had 29 Gila County votes.

Within the entire district, Babbitt had a total of 34,083 ballots cast; Donahue, 12,219; and Crockett, 495. Renzi had 35,092 votes in his favor.



Corporation Commission

Gila County Republicans were firmly behind incumbent corporation commission candidate Kris Mayes, giving her 2,022 votes to Republican Carl Seel's 957.

The other Republicans in the state showed a similar leaning. Throughout the state Mayes earned a total of 161,102 votes to Seel's 93,198.



The county's voters cast the following ballots in the uncontested Primary races:

U.S. Senate - John McCain (R), 3,576; Stuart Starky (D), 3,954; Ernest Hancock (L), 27.

Dist. 5 State Senate - Cameron Udall (D), 4,035; Jake Flake (R), 3,422.

Dist. 5 State Representative (2 seats) - Jack A. Brown (D), 4.094; Sylvia Allen (R), 2,236; Bill Konopnicki (R), 2,768.

Corporation Commission (3 seats) - Scott Clark (D), 3,107; Mark Manoil (D), 2,251; Nina Trasoff (D), 2,755; Mike Gleason (R), 2,153; Jeff Hatch-Miller (R), 2,325; Bill Mundell (R), 2,260.

County Attorney - Daisy Flores (R), 3,103.

County Treasurer - Priscilla Knuckey-Ralls (D), 4,397


Payson area voters went to the polls to cast their votes in the primary election Tuesday.

County School Superintendent - Armida Bittner (D), 4,528; Linda O'Dell (R), 3,098

County Recorder - Linda Haught-Ortega (D), 4,534

County Assessor - Dale Hom (D), 4,476

Judge of the Superior Court, Dist. 1 - Peter Cahill (D), 4,457

Watch for more election stories in the Friday print edition of the Payson Roundup

Commenting has been disabled for this item.