Roundup Named Newspaper Of The Year For Sixth Year



The Newspaper of the Year Award is presented annually by the Arizona Newspapers Association.

The Payson Roundup has been honored by the Arizona Newspaper Association as non-daily Newspaper of the Year for the sixth consecutive year. This award is based on the points awarded the paper for both its editorial and advertising content.

Sharing the state's top award for non-daily newspapers with the Roundup was the Coolidge Examiner. The daily paper winning the award was the East Valley Tribune.

The Roundup won first place for its website and also was awarded second places for general excellence in its circulation class, page design and editorial page excellence.

All members of the Roundup's editorial staff, including editor Jerry Thebado and publisher Richard Haddad won individual awards.

First places were presented to Haddad for best feature photo; Thebado for best headline; Kelly Crowley for best news story; and Max Foster for best sports story. Winning second places were Jim Keyworth for best column of analysis or commentary; Teresa McQuerrey for best news feature story; Max Foster and Teresa McQuerrey for best news story; Max Foster for best sports story; and Kelly Crowley for best sustained coverage or series.


Roundup reporter Kelly Crowley was honored with the 2004 ANA Freedom of Information Award for her efforts to stop an illegitimate gag order and protect the public's right to know.

Crowley was presented with the 2004 Newspaper Freedom of Information award for her efforts to stop a gag order requested in a sexual assault trial.

"As a fairly new reporter, Kelly recognized an injustice was about to occur, and led the charge to ensure that it did not happen," Thebado said. "Through her efforts, a gag order was prevented and the public's right to know was protected."

The newspaper and staff also were honored with several third place and honorable mention awards.

The awards were presented Sept. 25 at the 2004 Fall Convention of the Arizona Newspaper Association in Scottsdale.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.