Payson Men's Golf Club Crown Up For Grabs


John Pauley and Frank Szakal will battle toe-to-toe Aug. 17 for Payson Men's Golf Association Club Championship flight.

The pair advanced to the final meet of the prestigious fray in a second-round showdown Aug. 10 at Payson Golf Course.

In the first flight, Gary Campbell and Roger Poole will lock horns for honors.

Doug Talbot and Len Niedens are on deck to meet for the second-flight crown.

In the third flight, Tony LeGault and Bobby Bryant are finals qualifiers.

According to PMGA member Dick Ceyler, Bob Hendrie was crowned the champion of the fourth flight after his opponent withdrew from the tournament.

For members of the PMGA who did not qualify for the second round, a low-net tournament was held at PGC.

Don Castleman posted a 60 to win first-flight honors.

Tim Ernst and Ed Flores tied for second with identical scores of 67. On a scorecard playoff, Ernst was named the runnerup and Flores fell to third.

A tiebreaker involving Charlie Bruess and Carl Damon, was also needed to name the second flight champion. Both Bruess and Damon finished at 67, but Bruess was crowned top dog on the scorecard playoff

With a 68, Peter Foster was third.

In the closest-to-the-pin competition, Warren Mulcahy had the best tee shot of the tournament swatting to within 3 feet, 7 inches of the flag on No. 17.

Others to pocket prize money were John Calderwood (No. 5; 12 feet, 9 inches), Morris Kropf (No. 14; 11 feet, 5 inches), Niedens (No.2; 6 feet, 2 inches) and Szakal (No. 8; 9 feet, 9 inches).

Karnes takes President title

In Payson Women's Golf Association annual President's Cup play Aug. 8 and 9 at PGC, Joyce Karnes posted a tournament-best 138 to claim the crown.

Jan Burns and Isabella Sockrider tied for second with a pair of 147s. Carding a 149, Sharon Vaplon was third.

Closest-to-the-pin winners were Judy Neal (No. 8; 27 feet, 7 inches and Mary Cain (No. 14; 11 feet, 11 inches).

Commenting has been disabled for this item.