Athletes Earn Scholarships For Academic Excellence


The list of Payson High School students who earned Dr. Voie Stuart Chase Coy Scholar-Athlete awards is extensive.

In all, 52 citations were doled out to students who participated in fall and winter sports.


Caitlin Fruth, a PHS junior enrolled in advanced placement classes, earned a perfect 4.0 grade point average while playing varsity soccer. For her achievement, she was named an AIA Scholar-Athlete.

To be named an award winner, students must have earned a varsity sport letter while maintaining a minimum 3.50 GPA during the semester the sport or activity was held.

The Longhorn football team had 10 players honored, three of them for recording perfect 4.0 GPAs.

Six boys cross country team members were chosen and three selected from the four-member girls' cross country squad.

In soccer, the Lady Horns had six players tapped and the boys had five.

Also, five boys basketball players, four wrestlers and three girls basketball players were named to the elite team.

Eight cheerleaders representing coach Becky Hagler's spirit line were also honored.

All those named have received certificates of recognition from the AIA.

Among the individual recipients was junior Caitlin Fruth who has maintained a perfect 4.0 average while taking advanced placement classes and competing in soccer.

Fruth said, "It's the first one I've won and it is an honor."

Also in the AIA awards program, if any of the Longhorn teams from the fall and winter sports are found to have achieved a 3.50 or higher grade point average, they will receive recognition later this spring on the AIA team honor roll.

All student-athletes who earn the individual recognition are eligible to apply for the AIA Participant of the Year Award.

This summer, an AIA selection committee chose 16 finalists from around the state to receive the awards.

The selection criteria included academic accomplishments, high levels of integrity, veracity and participation in high school athletic programs.

From the 16 finalists, five boys and five girls are chosen overall winners and will receive plaques and scholarships to the university of their choice.

At the conclusion of the school year, the AIA will choose one school in each conference, 1A to 5A, to receive Overall Excellence Awards.

Last year the winners were Mogollon (1A), Valley Christian (2A), Winslow (3A), Catalina Foothills (4A) and Tempe Desert Vista (5A).

Payson High won the award for the 1998-99 school year when the Longhorns produced state champion teams in football and baseball.

The scholar-athlete award program began in 1989 to recognize high school students and schools who demonstrate their commitment to academics and athletics as a foundation for success. In 1999, the AIA Executive Board renamed the program for Dr. Voie Stuart Chase Coy who served as Executive Director from 1987 to 1999.

PHS student/athletes who maintained a 4.0 GPA:

Donald Engler, Wrestling

Mark McCarty, Wrestling

Danielle O'Haver, Girls Basketball

Brandon Buckner, Boys Basketball

Jacob Winans, Boys Basketball

Melissa Schwark, Cheer

Sierra Sommers, Volleyball

Timothy Dixon, Football

Christopher Eavenson, Football

Donald Engler, Football

Shanna Coleman, Girls Soccer

Danielle Dillon, Girls Soccer

Caitlin Fruth, Girls Soccer

Alexia Robles, Girls Soccer

Michelle Wing, Girls Soccer

Patrick Karlowski, Boys Soccer

Jonny Malloy, Boys Cross Country

Students who maintained a 3.50 GPA or higher:

Isaac Cluff, Wrestling

Zachary Rodgers, Wrestling

Cydney Figueroa, Girls Basketball

Jadyn Walden, Girls Basketball

Hunter Hardt, Boys Basketball

Miles Huff, Boys Basketball

Brian Schwind, Boys Basketball

Bonnie Clayton, Cheer

Sherah Cline, Cheer

Alexis Leckliter, Cheer

Megan Ochoa, Cheer

Leesa Sheehan, Cheer

Jenna Wagner, Cheer

Kalli Jo Wilembrecht, Cheer

Jadyn Walden, Volleyball

Luke Apfel, Football

Joseph Blackburn, Football

Nicholas Ford, Football

Rand Hallman, Football

David Hill, Football

Miles Huff, Football

Zachary Rogers, Football

Aubrey Laird, Girls Soccer

Isaac Cluff, Boys Soccer

Trent Hubbard, Boys Soccer

Chad Lammers, Boys Soccer

Dakoda Wholly, Boys Soccer

Sarah Agnes, Girls Cross Country

Juliana Cluff, Girls Cross Country

Anne Szabo, Girls Cross Country

Jeffrey Day, Boys Cross Country

Hunter Hardt, Boys Cross Country

Carlan Pontious, Boys Cross Country

Brian Schwind, Boys Cross Country

Max Siverson, Boys Cross Country

Commenting has been disabled for this item.