Pine Strawberry Elementary Ready For School Year


The Pine Strawberry Elementary School saw some staff reassignments and a few new hires for the 2006-07 school year.

Jaime Watt has been reassigned as the junior high social studies teacher with additional responsibilities as a special education teacher.

Becky Karras has been reassigned as the afternoon preschool teacher and will remain the special education director.

Kristen Ralls has been reassigned as a special education aide.

Deena Widmann has been reassigned as a preschool and special education aide.

Nancy Kane has been reassigned as a full-day kindergarten teacher.

Katie Kiekintveld has moved to part-time preschool aid. She will work through the first semester then leave to complete her student teaching.

Sandy Carver replaces Betty Jan Murphy in the library.

Tina Wullkotte is a new food service worker.

Fran Thus is the new After School Program supervisor.

Maurilee Walker is the new first grade teacher.

Melissa Daniels is the new fourth grade teacher.

Kristi Horsley is a new special education teacher.

Kristin Frey resigned to be a full-time mom.

At press time, the elementary school had not yet found a computer tech replacement.

All other staff are returning to their previous assignments.

The first day of school for kindergarten through eighth grade is Wednesday, July 26 with a 1 p.m. dismissal. The first regular day of school is Thursday, July 27. The first day of school for preschool is Monday, Aug. 7.

School Day Schedule

  • PreSchool: noon to 3 p.m. (Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday)
  • Kindergarten, Half-Day: 8 to 11 a.m.
  • Full Day: 8 a.m. to 2:15 p.m.
  • Grades 1 to 5: 8 a.m. to 2:15 p.m.
  • Grades 6 to 8: 8 a.m. to 3:15 p.m.
  • After School: noon to 4:30 p.m. (ages 5 thru fifth grade)

Bus schedule

Leaves Pine Elementary for Geronimo: 6:45 a.m.

Leaves Pine Elementary for Pine and Strawberry: 7:05 a.m.

Leaves Pine Elementary for Payson: 7:45 a.m.

Leaves Payson for Pine Elementary: 3:15 p.m.

Sports bus leaves Payson for Pine Elementary: 6:15 p.m.

Bus drop-off times in the afternoon remain the same.

For more information, call (928) 476-3283.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.