Tournament Ends With Battle For Second


It took a scorecard play to settle the battle for second place following a Payson Men's Golf Association "four man, two best ball" formatted tournament contested June 21 at Payson Golf Course.

The team of Mike McKee, Russ Morris, Tony LeGault and John Calderwood won the playoff to claim the silver medal.

Terry Lindsey, Ralph Lindo, Russ Zakariasen and Jack Gibbs fell to third place in the playoff.

Both teams finished regulation with identical scores of 112.

Championship honors were garnered by Don Castleman, Gene Howell, Popeye Clay and Bill McKenna. The four dominated the field finishing at 110.

Closest to the pin honors of the day went to Ron Hodge whose tee shot on No. 5 rolled to within 3 feet, 5 inches of an ace.

Other winners included Terry Lindsey, No. 2, 12 feet, 11 inches; Vic Kostecki, No. 8, 10 feet, 9 inches; Ed Kuhns, No. 14, 9 feet, 10 inches; and George Frandsen, No. 17, 5 feet, 6 inches.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.