Preliminary Payson Election Results


As of Wednesday morning 4,632 ballots were counted in the Payson election, accounting for 53.4 percent of registered voters. There are still 517 ballots to be counted. Final results will be announced 2 p.m. Thursday.

Preliminary Payson election results:

Bob Edwards: 2,217 (47.86%)
Barbara Brewer: 1,256 (27.12%)
Jon Barber: 1,117 (24.11%)

Ed Blair: 2,199
Su Connell: 1,859
Richard Croy: 1,438
Robert Henley: 1,269
Diana Sexton: 1,300
Charlie Smith: 874
Barbara Underwood: 1,686
Mike Vogel: 1,830

Four-year term for mayor
NO: 2,921
YES: 1,514

What's next?

The primary election was held Tuesday, March 14. If necessary, a runoff election will take place May 16.

To avoid a runoff, a candidate must get more than 50 percent of the vote. If none of the mayoral candidates get more than 50 percent of the vote, the top two vote getters must face each other in the runoff election May 16.

In the council race the top vote getters with 50 percent or more of the vote are elected. If, for example, two of the six candidates get more than 50 percent of the vote, they win two of the council seats and the two candidates who came in third and fourth vie for the third seat in the runoff.

Three of the six council seats are up for re-election every two years, with councilors serving four-year terms.

In this election, voters were asked if they want to change the term of the mayor from two years to four years.

Watch for updated election results. See complete coverage of this election in the Friday print edition of the Payson Roundup.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.