Town Chooses Name: Star Valley


Diamond Star voters overwhelmingly approved two ballot questions -- to change the name of the town to Star Valley and to authorize the town to acquire a public utility. Over 80 percent of the 553 citizens who cast votes approved the two questions.

A new town council was also elected to replace the original council appointed by the Gila County Board of Supervisors. The seven members of the council who ran unopposed are Bill Heath, Chuck Heron, Mary Ann Kotelnicki, Art Lloyd, Del Newland, Bill Rappaport and Randy White. All were county appointees except Newland and Rappaport.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.