Thanks For Making Prom A Success



It took us a week to recover, but Payson High School's junior class would like to extend a heartfelt thank-you to all who made this year's prom a success.

If you have never served on a prom committee, you probably have only a vague idea of what is involved in pulling off this annual event. It's a lot like a wedding -- so simple if money is no object, but that is never the case.

Aside from choosing a location, distributing invitations, hiring a disc jockey, selecting a photographer and ordering food, prom involves three years' worth of fund-raising and weeks of designing and decorating.

Fortunately, we have had many great hands and heads to help us out.

To Mrs. Kristy Ford and her entire family, thanks for keeping our snack bar always supplied with inventory the past two years, for taking suggestions and pulling them together to create a vision. Thank you for your countless hours of work every afternoon and evening the week prior to and including the day of prom, and for your generosity in purchasing beyond the budget we had set for ourselves. We couldn't have done it without you.

We would like to express our gratitude to other community members, including Mr. Will Wearne who used the Legacy Home Furnishings truck to load and unload all our stuff before and after prom. Thank you to Mr. Dan Maher, who built the trellis tunnel, to Mrs. Jilene Curtis, who was instrumental in prom set-up, tear-down and clean-up and to Mrs. Cherie Griffin, who wrestled with balloons to fill the branches of the tree, among other things. And thank you to Mr. Robert Ochoa, who made R-C accessible to us the week prior to the prom.

We'd also like to thank Mrs. Traci Chovanec for helping to make the roads safer for our prom travelers, to DPS, the Sheriff's Department and Payson PD for their presence on the roads. Thank you to Mr. Sandoval and Mr. Alm for their work as shuttle drivers and to our district chaperones: Mr. Ken Hayes, the Pedersons, Youngs, Hoffs, Underwoods and Eckhardts.

To all the students and parents who assisted us during our weeks of craziness, thanks also. It was an evening to remember.

Nick Ford, Katie Dyer, Shanna Coleman, Hannah Lee, Junior Class Officers and the rest of the PHS Class of 2007

Commenting has been disabled for this item.