Star Valley Council Sworn In, Mayor Chosen


Chuck Heron was unanimously chosen to serve as the next mayor of Star Valley at a meeting of the Star Valley Town Council May 16.

Randy White was voted in as vice mayor.

Bill Rappaport and Del Newland were sworn in as new council members after mayor Ronnie McDaniel and councilmember Ted Pettet stepped down.

"I'd like to take this opportunity to recognize former Mayor McDaniel, former council member Pettet and former clerk Diane McDaniel," Heron said as he accepted his new position. "These folks were very instrumental in helping establish this town and they will long be remembered."

McDaniel was the new town's first mayor. He spent much of his life as a public servant. He retired in 2004 after serving 18 years as justice of the peace and magistrate in Payson.

Pettet was Payson's first mayor.

After Heron's short speech, those present at the meeting gave McDaniel and Pettet a standing ovation.

The Council then voted unanimously to have the town attorney draft a letter of "no protest" to the residents of Lion Springs Road allowing them to secede from the town if there is a legal way for them to become de-annexed.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.