Firewise Leadership Recognized


Mike Brandt of the Pine-Strawberry Fire Department, front row from the left, Meckenzie Helmandollar, Lee Ann Beery of the Arizona State Land Forestry Division Payson Office, Margaret Midlick of the Kohl's Tonto Creek Subdivision Homeowners Association, Janet Brandt, who developed the Billy Brushwacker Wildland Fire Education Program, and Cliff Pearlberg. Back row: Mark Brehl, Stephen Campbell and David Peters.

The winners of the the inaugural Firewise Leadership Awards were announced at the National Wildland/Urban Interface Fire Education Conference, "Backyards and Beyond," in Denver, Colo. The Firewise Leadership Awards are designed to honor individuals and organizations conducting wildland fire mitigation activities in residential developments in the wildland/urban interface (WUI). Arizona Firewise was the first winner of the Firewise Leadership Award in the state category.

Mike Brandt was among those who accepted the award. Also present and representing the Rim Country at the awards ceremony in Denver were Janet Brandt, Lee Ann Beery, and Margaret Midlick.

Arizona Firewise is a chartered subcommittee of the Arizona Interagency Coordinating Group and functions with the support of the State Forester, Kirk Rowdabaugh. It addresses fire safety issues through the interaction of a collective pool of firefighting and outreach education expertise from state, federal and tribal land agencies, fire departments and university cooperative extension to improve and expand fire education efforts.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.