Woman Celebrates Four Consecutive Wins


Laura Meyocks' domination of the Payson Women's Golf Association Club Championship tournament now extends to four consecutive victories.

The most recent victory occurred Oct. 3 at Payson Golf Course where Meyocks posted a two-day low gross card of 170 that was not quite as good as the 166 she scored in winning last year's crown.


Payson Women's Golf Association members celebrate the culmination of the Club Championship played over two days at Payson Golf Course. Laura Meyocks (second from right) won the tournament for the second consecutive year.

"My game was a little off," she said.

Jan Burns finished first in the first flight with a 141. Isabella Sockrider took second with a 142.

Sharon Vaplon won the second flight carding a 136.

Trailing her were Jeannie Griffen (139) and Joyce Karnes (143).

In the closest to the pin competition, Jan Burns pocketed prize money on No. 8 with a lie of 33 feet, 5 inches.

Judy Neal won on No. 14 at 9 feet, 4 inches.

In a low net tournament played Sept. 26, Karen Peterson took first the Class A at 63. Nancy Little was second at 71.

In the B class, Burns (64) claimed the tile and Mary Cain (56) was runner-up.

Alesha Calderwood (70) out-dueled Joyce Goff for the C crown.

Vaplon was first in D class with a 63 and by posting a 79 Connie Gyde took second.

Peterson won both closest to the pin contests.

On. No. 5, her tee shot rolled to within 22 feet, 6 inches. On No. 17, she was within 13 feet, 1 inch of the flag.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.