Local Linkster Takes Home Club Champion Trophy


Chris Cumpton now proudly holds the Payson Men's Golf Association Club Champion trophy.

He won the prestigious hardware Aug. 30 by beating Tim Ernst one up in the third and final round of the annual match play tournament.

The skirmish marked the culmination of three rounds of match play that began Aug. 16.

In the second round, Ernst defeated John Waring to reach the gold medal finale. Cumpton got to the finals by edging Jessie Smith in the semifinals.

Also in the tournament, Larry Baker defeated Ron Lodge for the first flight crown and Dick Harding fell to Ralph Lindo in the battle for second flight laurels. Tony Mularski emerged the third flight leader by whipping Frank Karnes. Tony Legault edged Jack Gibbs for the fourth flight title.

Also highlighting the PMGA agenda on the final day of the club championship was an individual low gross and low net tournament for those players who were eliminated in the first two rounds of the championship fray.

Jessie Smith took the low gross title with a 72. Frank Szakal (76) was second and Terry Lindsey (76) third.

In low net scoring, Herb Sherman (65) was first, Bob Hendrie (65) second and Tom Dahl (67) third.

Closest to the pin winners included Russ Zakariasen (No. 14; 4 feet, 4 inches), John Waring (No. 8; 8 feet, 11 inches), Ralph Lindo (No. 5: 7 feet, 1 inch), Terry Lindsey (No. 17; 3 feet, 6 inches) and Smith (No. 2; 21 feet, 9 inches).

At the conclusion of the two tournaments, the annual putting championship was held on putting practice green at Payson Golf Course. Herb Sherman claimed the crown by besting Troy Neal.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.