Longhorn Named To Republic All-State Team


Payson High School football player, Zak Miller, has been named to a second All-State team in the course of the past two weeks.

The 6-1, 180-pound senior was selected Dec. 24 to The Arizona Republic's 1A-3A All-State second team offense as a tight end.


Zak Miller

Earlier, Miller was chosen as a member of the conference coaches' 1A-3A All-State first team, also as a tight end.

The Arizona Republic All-State team is chosen by coaches' ballots, public nominations, all-region teams and interviews with coaches, statistics and reporters' observations.

The coaches' all-state players are selected in a voting of 1A-3A coaches at the conclusion of the state playoffs.

Besting Miller for first team honors on the Republic All-State team was 6-2, 180-pound sophomore Adam Mossbrucker of Northwest Christian.

The East region, of which PHS is a member, had two players selected to the Republic's All-State first team offense -- Roy Hamblin and Josh Taylor both of Round Valley.

Hamblin was chosen as an offensive lineman and Taylor as a place kicker.

On the first team defense, the East's lone selection was Round Valley defensive lineman, Ross Eagar.

All-State second team picks from the East included Dwight Boyd (OL, Blue Ridge), Travis Trickey (LB, Round Valley) and Frank Parkinson (KR, Blue Ridge).

The Republic named Coolidge quarterback/cornerback, Jesse Wheeler, a first team defensive selection and the Small School Player of the Year.

Thatcher's Don Conrad was named the Small School Coach of the Year. Coolidge was the state champion in the 3A ranks and Thatcher emerged victorious in the 2A conference after opening the season 0-3.

For Miller, selection to the Republic All-State second team and coaches' first team marks the culmination of a banner season in which he was all an All-East region first team choice, a Longhorn team captain and winner of the squad's Mr. Defense award.

Miller has also been chosen to participate in the Arizona Coaches Association 1A-3A North vs. South All-Star game, when it is held next summer.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.