Committee To Oversee Event Center Progress


Payson's newest volunteer group has been corralled to see to it that the Payson Event Center is all that it can be.

The 14 members composing the Payson Event Center Technical Advisory Committee come from the many arenas for which the center will be used.

The committee will be involved with the event center renovation from the beginning stages.

"The PECTAC will oversee and recommend the event center future design and uses," Payson Parks and Recreation Director Rick Manchester said.

Manchester said the volunteers were nominated or asked to participate because of their involvement in event center activities.

"Most were chosen because of certain expertise or because of their relationship to the event center or the town," he said.

The committee is scheduled to hold its first meeting sometime this week and will meet with the architect selected to revamp the center, as soon as he or she is chosen.

Manchester, Interim Town Manager Debra Galbraith and Mayor Bob Edwards will select the architect.

They have the list narrowed to six possible candidates and an architect for the project will likely be chosen by Nov. 15, Manchester said.

"We're looking for previous experience in rodeo grounds and event centers," he said.

Manchester said the group would meet on an as-needed basis, likely "every couple weeks."

"The marching order for the group is to develop a master plan for the event center," he said.

The PECTAC members include: Andy Romance, Payson Town Councilor; Bruce Wilson, who was nominated by the Parks and Rec Advisory Board; John Landino from the rodeo committee; Leon Keddington, as the mayor's appointee; Dr. Drew Justice, a local veterinarian; Farrell Hoosava from the Tonto Apache Tribal Council; Lani Hall, a representative from the equestrian community; Gary Martinson, a developer with Bison Homes; Bill Ensign, former Scottsdale West World manager; Diane Enos, president of the Chamber of Commerce Board; Kate Launder, to represent Arabian horses and shows; Roy Bergold from the Payson Horseman's Association; Minette Richardson, to represent the Green Valley Redevelopment Area Committee; and Rex Hinshaw from the rodeo committee.

Manchester, Town Engineer LaRon Garrett and Tourism/Economic Vitality Director Cameron Davis will also serve as non-voting members of the committee.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.