Elks Hoop Shoot Winners Named



Myles Rathburn celebrates his victory in the Elks Hoop Shoot competition, boys 10-11 category.


Alexis McClure


Jessica Felon


Ryan Riche

Another round of Elks Hoop Shoot champions have been crowned.

The most recent gold medalists received their honors and trophies at the conclusion of the 2008 competitor, held Dec. 6 in the Tonto Apache Tribe gymnasium.

In the boys 8- to 9-years age division, Payson Elementary School student Ryan Riche shot his way to top honors.

Jessica Felon of Tonto Basin won the girls 10-11 competition and Alexis McClure, also of Tonto Basin, took the girls 8- to 9-years title.

Tonto Basin’s Myles Rathburn captured the boys 10-11 title.

Although Tonto Basin is a very small school when compared to some of the Payson elementaries, it became a four-time Hoop Shoot champ when Chiaya Hill won the girls 13-years crown.

Rim Country Middle School’s Kain England won the 13-years boys title.

All Rim Country winners are now eligible to move on to district, state, regional and national competitions.

Six national champions are named — one boy and one girl in each of three categories: ages 8-9, 10-11 and 12-13.

The winners each receive a trophy, and their names are inscribed on a plaque at the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame in Springfield, Mass. Parents accompany contestants throughout the competition.

The parents of finalists at the state, regional and national levels attend the competitions as guests of the Elks.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Requires free registration

Posting comments requires a free account and verification.