Second Day Charge Earns Van Bowman The President's Club Champion Title


John Calderwood probably departed Payson Golf Course July 23 believing he was the 2008 President's Cup champion.

He had plenty of reason to think that because he was the first-round leader at 61 and had finished the second round still in the lead at 126.


Jim McCutchen (left) and Russ Morris claimed the championship of the PMGA two-man best-ball event played at Payson Golf Course June 18 and 25. The two finished with a combined score of 109.

Also, most all the Payson Men's Golf Association members competing in the two-week tournament had wrapped up play and were enjoying cooling beverages in the friendly confines of the PGC clubhouse.

In fact, talk in the clubhouse among members was that Calderwood had swung his way to the title.

But only moments after Calderwood left PGC, fellow PMGA member Van Bowman sauntered into the clubhouse. His 18 holes of play had taken more than five hours, but the time on the course was well spent when he turned in his two-round card of 124. It was two strokes better than that posted by Calderwood, now the runner-up at 126.

After being told by PMGA representative Dick Ceyler that he was the new champion, Bowman expressed his surprise.

"Isn't John the champion," he asked. "I thought he beat me -- he did the other day on the opening round."

On the first day, Bowman carded a 64 and trailed Billy Bob Hoyt (63), Phil Wagner (62), Phil Scott (62) and Calderwood.

But Bowman's second day charge of 60 was good enough to earn him the coveted cup.

In addition to Bowman winning the prestigious president's title, he pocketed closest-to-the-pin prize money on No. 17 where his tee shot was 7 feet, 2 inches shy of an ace.

Finishing third behind Bowman and Calderwood in the cup tournament was Jessie Smith at 127.

More results

Also in individual low-net flight play, Smith took the A flight title in a scorecard playoff over runner-up Terry Lindsey. Both finished at 61.

With a 63, Steve Haskett was third.

In the B flight, Jack Greenshield (60) was first, Jerry McGuire (63) second and Larry Baker (67) took third.

Gary Rovetto won C flight laurels by posting a 67. Ed Kuhns was second at 68 and with a 69, Popeye Clay claimed third.

Trailing Bowman in D flight were Armand Werle (63) and Steve Holmes (64).

Closest-to-the-pin winners in addition to Bowman were Tony Cowan, No. 14, 2 feet, 3 inches; Haskett, No. 5, 6 feet, 2 inches; and Hoyt, No. 8, 11 feet, 3 inches.

Next on the PMGA agenda is a July 30 low-net tournament against Williams Elephant Rock at PGC.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.