All-Stars Play Today


Postseason tournament action for three of Payson's six all-star teams tips off today, June 27.

The 9-10-year-old stars, managed by Denver White, will be in action in Payson.


Goofing off are members of Payson's first-ever 11-12-year-old softball all-star team are: front row, Emma Randall and Derann Runzo; middle row, Jade Holland, Karessa Armstrong and Emmee Ashby; back row, Kaite Jones, Rylie Perkes, Kelsey Bossert, Megan Wessel and Kaitlyne Wessel and coaches Chris Perkes and Clayton Randall.

The 10-11-year-old team, under the tutelage of Ken Schneider, will travel to Flagstaff Mt. Elden for tournament action.

The 11-12-year celestial squad of Brent Cannon will tip off the postseason today in Winslow.

Payson's fourth Little League baseball all-star team, the 13-14-year-olds -- also known as the senior league --ill begin pursuit of area and district titles July 30 in Page.

When Payson's two softball all-star contingents step on the field July 7, it will mark the first time the Rim Country has entered teams in Little League fast pitch play.

"Both the girls teams have been working really hard to be ready," local Little League President Slade Gibson said.

The 10-11-year softball team will travel to Flagstaff for tournament play. The 11-12-year crew will be in action in Taylor.

Members of the 10-11-year-old team are Mishayla Ahl, Cori Barnett, Keely Christensen, Logan Conway, Sadie Dunman, Ricci Gamboa, Savannah Grassel, Jewel Johnson, Chole Conway, Kayla Percell, Brittany Proctor and Ali Tenney.

Chris Conway and Marissa Murray are coaching the team.

On the first-ever 11-12-year team are Karessa Armstrong, Emmee Ashby, Kelsey Bossert, Jade Holland Bzoski, Katie Jones Riley Perkes, Payton Peterson, Taylor Peterson, Emma Randall, Devann Gunzo, Kaitly Wessel and Megan Wessel.


Tom Brossart/Roundup Payson all-star Kelsey Bossert takes a hard swing at the ball during practice early this week.

Chris Perkes and Clayton Randall coach the team.

On the 13-14-year-old Little League baseball all-star team are Garrett Geske, Gunner Goodman, Brady O'Donald, Cale Novak, Will Dougherty, Joshua Oakley, Ray Lott, Justin Cobb, Dylan Richardson, Vince Beckham, Colton Ludtke and Cedril Shill.

Dan Cobb, Scott Geske and Scott Novak are coaching the team.


Members of the 13-14-year-old Payson all-star team are: front row, Grunner Goodman, Will Dougherty, Justin Cobb, Vince Beckham, Garrett Geske and Ray Lott; second row, Dan Cobb (coach), Cedric Shill, Dylan Richardson, Cale Novack, Scott Geske (coach), Josh Oakley, Brady O'Donald, Colton Ludtke and Scott Novack (coach).

Payson teams that manage to win area and district titles will automatically qualify for the state tournament.

Only four Rim Country Little League teams have ever made it to the state tournament.

The best finish in local Little League history was the 2006 9-10-year-old stars that won area and district championships before tying for fourth place in the state finals.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.