Pine, Strawberry Voters Recall 4 District Members


Official results won't be available for about 10 days, but victorious candidates in the Pine Strawberry Water Improvement District recall election are expected to assume their seats on the governing board immediately after that, said Gila County Director of Elections Dixie Mundy.

Pine Strawberry water district voters recalled four board members in Tuesday's election and voted in new board members.

Losing their board seats are Gary Sherlock, Jim Richey, Forest McCoy and Wes Suhr.

Elected to board seats are Michael Greer, Terry Schleizer, Richard Dickinson and Ron Calderon.

The Roundup asked for comments from those who lost seats in the election and received a collective statement from Sherlock on behalf of himself, Richey, McCoy and Suhr.

"The PSWID voting result is anything but a mandate of the eligible voters.f less than 8 percent of the eligible electors can determine the future ofine/Strawberry's water supply, then water availability (or as the recallroup called it "a utility problem")as not as acute as they led the public to believe, when they planned this "take-over" of the PSWID board.God help now that this newRealtor led' group is in control of the PSWID board," said Sherlock, who said he was speaking for the four current board members who were recalled in Tuesday's election.

The new board members also supplied a collective statement expressing their happiness in winning.

Winners in the recall election did not want to comment on the possible direction of the new board regarding the central issue in the recall, drilling of the K2 well to supply water to Pine and Strawberry residents.

"We are happy that we won the election and look forward to working together with the three remaining board members, Barbara Hall, William Haney and Donald Smith and intend to move forward with the board in representing our constituents," said Ron Calderon on behalf of himself, Terry Schleizer, Michael Greer and Richard Dickinson.

Preliminary results from Gila County Elections in Globe said that incumbent board chairman Gary Sherlock, with 603 out of 1,528 votes cast, lost to his opponent Ron Calderon who got 919 votes.

Board treasurer Forest McCoy lost to Richard Dickinson by a count of 589 to 930 out of 1,520 votes. PSWID board members Jim Richey with 560 votes lost to Michael Greer with a count of 964 out of 1,525 votes.

Terry Schleizer defeated Wes Suhr with 935 votes as compared to Suhr's 591.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.