Phs Girls Win Safford Meet Behind Sophmore's Four Medals


Sophomore Maddie Nossek's four medal-winning performances lifted the Lady Longhorn track and field team to its first triumph of the season.

Payson's victory was chalked up March 20 at the Safford Bulldog Invitational against a 13-team field that included the host, and traditionally tough Safford. In taking first, the Lady Horns posted a meet-high 137.5 points.

Nossek won both the high jump (5 feet) and long jump (16 feet, 6 inches) while finishing third in the 200 meters and in the 4x400 relay. On the relay foursome with Nossek were Nikki DeWees, Katie Hancock and Kyndel Lann.

The Lady Horn cause also received a gold medal boost from Jenna Robertson and the 4x800 relay team.

Robertson won the shot put with a heave of 33 feet, 8.75 inches and the team of Lana Cluff, Jacquelyn Oesterbland, Tanya Olson and Brooke Larned was first in 11:17.39.

Cluff, a senior who has been a stalwart in the track program since she was a freshman, was second in the 800 meters in 2:46.12.

Kayla Morgan threw her way to a pair of silver medals, finishing second in the shot put (33 feet, 3 inches) and discus (90 feet).

Third-place winners included Lucy Schouten (3200 meters, 14:02.59), Talia Schaal (triple jump, 29 feet, 11 inches), DeWees (300 hurdles, 53:31), Osterblad (1600 meters, 6:15.97), and the girls 4x100 relay team (54:85).

On the squad were Tanya Olson, DeWees, Schaal and Hancock.

Also for PHS, Schaal was fourth in the 300 hurdles (53:59).

Next up for the girls is the prestigious 68th Annual Chandler Rotary Invitational March 28 and 29.

The meet has been open only by invitation and to individual athletes who met certain minimum qualifying standards in their respective events.

Because the meet draws a large number of entries, most of the running and hurdling events are conducted in seeded heats.

Some events have had as many as six heats. The field events are conducted in two flights.

Payson High School assistant coach Chuck Yale said this season the first day of the meet would be conducted in an all-comers format.

Among those expected to compete at Chandler are Nossek, DeWees, Robertson, Schaal, Lann, Cluff, Schouten and Osterblad.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.