County Elections

State, county filings due June 4


Checking with election officials at the state and county, the field of contenders is sparse ... for now.

While there are quite a few folks out campaigning and even more rumors of intended candidacies, not many have filed their formal nominating petitions. The deadline to file is June 4 at 5 p.m.

Dixie Mundy, director of elections for Gila County, said only a few people seeking precinct committee posts have filed as of May 14.

There is still time for prospective candidates to take out nomination papers and collect signatures.

"Before a candidate can collect signatures, they have to register a candidate committee," Mundy said.

County offices that will appear in the Sept. 2, and Nov. 4, elections: supervisor, District 1, 2 and 3; attorney; sheriff; treasurer; school superintendent; recorder; assessor and Division 1 Superior Court judge.

For more information about nominating petitions and filing to seek a county office, contact the Gila County Elections Office at (928) 402-8708 or (928) 402-8709.

Only one person, Sydney Hay, a Republican from Munds Park, has filed her nominating petitions for the District One U.S. Representative -- the post being vacated by Rick Renzi.

As for the state legislative offices serving the Payson area, Jake Flake, a Republican from Snowflake, has filed his papers seeking re-election to his District 5 senate seat and Sylvia Tenney Allen, also a Republican from Snowflake, has filed for the District 5 house seat.

The Web sites of the Republicans and Democrats show several people have announced their intention to seek various offices impacting the Rim Country.

In addition to Hay, Preston Korn of Flagstaff is another Republican seeking the nomination for the District 1 Congressional seat.

Democrats who are making the rounds to collect signatures to run for the District 1 Congressional seat are Jeffrey Brown of Munds Park, Ann Kirkpatrick of Flagstaff, Howard Shanker of Flagstaff and Mary Kim Titla of Globe.

Republican Bill Konopnicki is seeking re-election to the Arizona House for District 5, but has yet to file papers with the Secretary of State. There are no Arizona legislative candidates listed on the state's Democratic Party Web site.

The Arizona Corporation Commission has three seats open. The Republicans who are declared candidates include John Allen of Scottsdale, Rick Fowlkes of Mesa, Joseph Hobbs of Avondale, Marian McClure of Tucson, Bob Robson of Chandler, Bob Stump of Peoria, Keith Swapp of Buckeye and Barry Wong, with campaign headquarters in Phoenix. Seeking signatures on ACC nominating petitions are Democrats George Arredondo of Coolidge, Sam George of Phoenix, Kara Kelty of Flagstaff, Sandra Kennedy of Tempe and Paul Newman of Tucson.

School candidates get more time

While the candidates for county offices, state offices and the U.S. Congress must file nominating petitions by June 4, hopefuls for educational boards don't need to begin filing until July 7 and have an Aug. 6 filing deadline.

Gila County School Superintendent Linda O'Dell advises that non-partisan petitions for governing board members are available in the Gila County school superintendent's office and at local school district administration offices. Any person who is a resident of the school district and is a registered voter is eligible to seek election to the local school district governing board.

Candidates seeking election will run in the general election to be held Tuesday, Nov. 4.

The following educational governing boards in northern Gila County have openings: Payson, three seats currently held by Charles Brown, Don Engler and Michael Horton; Pine, two seats currently held by Margaret Parker and Katie Parks; Tonto Basin, one seat currently held by Sheri Kovar; the Gila Community College, District 2 seat, currently held by Larry Stephenson; and a seat on the board of the Northern Arizona Vocational Institute of Technology, currently held by Scott Flake.

For further information, contact your local school district administration office or contact Linda O'Dell at the Gila County Courthouse, (928) 425-3231, ext. 8783.

To vote in the Sept. 2 primary, residents must register by Aug. 4; to vote in the Nov. 4 general election, the deadline to register is Oct. 6. Early voting for the primary begins July 31, and for the general, ballots may be submitted starting Oct. 2.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.