Jan Parsons Named Top Business Person


Jan Parsons of APS in Payson is the 2008 Business person of the Year in the Rim Country.

Parsons, who is area supervisor for the utility, has been in the community of Payson for nearly two dozen years, said Mayor Kenny Evans in announcing the award.


She joined APS in 1985. As area supervisor, she oversees all facets of customer service for a vast geographic area.

"This award wouldn't be possible without the great team I work with," Parsons said in accepting the award.

"It's a tremendous honor. I'm flattered to stand shoulder to shoulder with John Naughton and Gerry Cruz in being selected as a final candidate. Again, I wouldn't even be in the running if it weren't for the great team of employees I work with here at APS and the team of people I work with in the community," Parsons said.

She said the awards program provides a great opportunity for businesses in Rim Country to celebrate each other's success.

She has a long history of community service in the Rim Country, founding the Christmas Toy Drive, helping establish the Women's Wellness Forum, working with the Payson Lioness Club and Rim Country Rotary. She is also deeply involved with the Payson Regional Economic Development Corporation and has been instrumental in getting numerous economic studies completed for the Rim Country and coordinating community planning projects -- Focused Future -- with the assistance of APS.

She said through the Focused Future program, the Leadership Academy was developed and has proven to be a great success and asset, bringing more people out to become involved in government.

Joining Parsons as nominees for 2008 Businessperson of the Year were Gerry Cruz, manager of Main Street Grille, and John Naughton, publisher of the Payson Roundup.

Payson Regional Medical Center was selected as 2008 Large Business of the Year and PostNet was named 2008 Small Business of the Year.


Chris Wolf, left, chief executive officer at Payson Regional Medical Center, accepts the large business of the year award on behalf of the medical center from Payson Mayor Kenny Evans during the Business Awards Ceremony at Best Western in Payson, Thursday, May 29.

Opening the May 29 program, Ken Volz, executive director of the Payson Regional Economic Development Corporation, said, "This is a celebration of business in the Rim Country."

Evans was assisted in presenting the awards by master of ceremonies Dan Haapala. Payson council members attending the program included Su Connell, Rick Croy, Michael Hughes and John Wilson. Representatives from Star Valley and District 1 Gila County Supervisor Tommie Martin's office were also present.

Haapala said the judges devoted three hours to making the selection of finalists and eventual winners. The winning selections were unanimous choices, he said.


Ed and Diane Enos, left, owners of PostNet, accept their small business of the year award from Payson Mayor Kenny Evans during the Business Awards Ceremony.

Haapala was one of five judges making the selections, the others were Cameron Davis, Town of Payson Office of Tourism and Economic Vitality; Scott Flake of Edward Jones and former executive director of the PREDC; John Stanton, executive director of the Rim Country Regional Chamber of Commerce and Volz.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.