Pwga Prez A Repeat Senior Champion



For the second year, Payson Women’s Golf Association President Karen Peterson won the NAWGA Senior tournament held near Flagstaff.


Courtesy photo

Jan Burns won the Payson Women’s Golf Association Presidents Cup Tournament played at Payson Golf Course. She was also a closest-to-the-pin winner during July PWGA tournaments.

Payson Women’s Golf Association President Karen Peterson represented her hometown club well, winning for the second consecutive year the low-gross senior championship of the Northern Arizona Women’s Golf Association.

The gold medal fray was played July 28 in Pinewood Munds Park in Flagstaff and drew 50-years-plus qualifiers from around Arizona.

“Karen, age 69, played in a super grad division and shot an 81 to take her flight low gross (championship),” said PWGA spokesperson Claudia Bullard. “She played well and her score of 81 was second best in the entire field.”

Peterson’s playing partner was a 70-year-old representing Forest Highlands and Arizona Country Clubs.

“She shot even par (73) and won the overall championship,” Peterson said. “We were neck-and-neck until I ran into trouble on one hole.”

Peterson tried to stay even with her partner by matching her par for par.

“I was hoping in get an ‘in’ to overcome the one bad hole, but didn’t do it,” Peterson said. “She played well.”

Also in Payson Women’s Golf Association play, Jan Burns out-dueled runner-up Glenda Cook and bronze medalist Jeannie Griffin to win the Presidents Cup championship.

In State Medallion play, Karen Peterson swung her way to the low-gross championship and Susan Torrens won the low-net title.

In A flight of the eclectic tournament, Shari Cody was first and Laura Meyocks took second.

Among the B flight players, Susan Torrens took the gold and Joyce Goff and Jan Burns tied for second. Claudia Bullard won the C flight by edging past silver medalist Marilyn Schaal.

In D flight, Glenda Cook was first and Jeannie Griffin second.

The championship of the PWGA’s annual Memorial Tournament, played in memory of members who have died, was won by the team of Torrens and Kelly O’Neill.

Meyocks and Mary Cain tied with the duo of Mary Jones and Griffin.

Peterson and Bullard were third.

In a “blind nine” formatted tournament contested June 2, Peterson and Meyocks joined forces to take top honors in flight one. Meyocks was also a closest-to-the-pin prize money winner, as was Goff.

In flight two, Isabella Sockrider was first and Burns second. Bullard took flight three honors. Schaal and Alesha Calderwood dead-knotted for second.

Griffin claimed flight 4 honors over second-place finisher Earlene Brewer.

In a “best ball of foursome” fray on June 9, Cody, O’Neill, Schaal and Brewer took the title.

Goff, Sockrider, Cain and Calderwood rolled into second.

Goff and O’Neill were closest-to-the-pin winners.

O’Neill also tied for first with Lois Judd in a “front or back nine and one-half handicap” shoot-out on June 15.

Goff and Burns won the second flight and Sockrider and Kay Davis took the third.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Requires free registration

Posting comments requires a free account and verification.