Payson High School Students Receive Scholarships

$791,500 in education money awarded to grads



Andy Towle/Roundup -

Troy Wayland celebrates receiving his diploma as his classmates shout and scream their heartfelt approval at Payson High School’s 2009 graduation ceremony in Wilson Dome, Thursday, May 21.

The students in Payson High School’s Class of 2009 collectively received $791,500 in scholarships to further their education.

Sixty-two of the roughly 150 who graduated said they would attend college, according to a survey conducted by the high school.

In addition to money from various colleges, the support of local organizations and community members will help hometown kids pursue the expensive, but life-changing goal of earning a college degree.

Recipients are as follows:

Ryan Ammann, Hannah Bielke, Jeffrey Day and Danielle Westrom, all of whom will attend Arizona State University, have received Provost’s Scholarships for $7,500, which are renewable for an additional three years with a total value of $30,000.

Christian Breen, Laughlin Potvin and Noah Sweet, who will all attend Northern Arizona University, have received Merit Scholarships for $1,750, which are renewable for up to four years for a total of $7,000.

Ridge Halenar, who will attend the University of North Dakota, has received an ROTC Scholarship package valued at $205,000 over four years.

Nicholas Lins, who will attend the University of California, Los Angeles, has received a Navy ROTC scholarship valued at over $230,000.

Skye McNeeley, who will attend Northern Arizona University, has received the Dean’s Scholarship valued at $2,500 for up to four years, for a total of $10,000.

Sumit Patel, who will attend the University of Arizona, has received the Wildcat Excellence Award, valued at $8,500 per academic year up to four years, for a total value of $34,000.

Alexia Robles, who will attend the University of Portland, has received the school’s President’s Scholarship valued at $64,000 over four years. She also received a grant from the school for $9,450 per academic year for the next four years.

Tyler Savage, who will attend Benedictine College, has received a scholarship package valued at $25,000 for the 2009-2010 school year.

Matthias Wilson, who will attend Northern Arizona University, has received a Dean’s Scholarship valued at $2,500 per semester for up to eight semesters, an Arizona Board of Regents High Honors Tuition Scholarship for cost of first year in-state tuition, which is also renewable for three additional years, and a Student Athlete Award for $13,103 for the 2009-2010 school year.

Skye McNeeley and Melanie Elliott each received $100 from Jon and Trina Gunzel, owners of Arizona Photo Solutions, to encourage small business growth for Payson’s future leaders of tomorrow.

Melanie Elliott and Monica Lamb each won $1,000 scholarships from the Arizona Private School Association to continue their educations.

Talia Schaal won a $14,000 scholarship from the Arizona Culinary Institute in Scottsdale.

Ryan Ammann and Laughlin Potvin each won a $2,500 scholarship from the Central Arizona Board of Realtors for academic excellence, contributions to school and community, and having definite future goals.

Skye McNeeley received a $1,000 scholarship from Daughters of Gila County Pioneers because the Daughters feel they can pay no higher tribute to their ancestors than to help educate their young.

Nichole Rislund won a $500 Doyle Coffey Scholarship Award from the Gila Foundation for Higher Education to honor the Gila Community College leader and advocate.

Jeff Day and Ryan Hintze each won $500 scholarships from the Gila Foundation for Higher Education.

Jade Berryman won a $500 scholarship from the Gila Foundation for Higher Education and Kiwanis Club of Zane Grey Country.

Christina Deaton, Mitchell Perna, Cassidy Hayn and Shea Nelson each won $1,000 scholarships from the Gila County Pioneer Committee and Richard Alvarez Scholarship.

Jordan Abernathy and Cassidy Hayn each won a $500 Gisela Valley Community Affairs Association Graduating Senior Scholarship.

Melanie Elliott won a $1,000 Imagine America Scholarship.

Jeff Day won a $1,500 Jack Morris Memorial Scholarship to honor the memory of the proud graduate and dedicated PHS coach.

The following scholarships were awarded by the Kiwanis Club of Zane Grey Country: Dakoda Wholly, $5,000; Ryan Ammann, $3,000 for the Key Club Scholarship; Hannah Bielke and Meha Sharma, $2,000; Jeff Day, $1,000. Kiwanis works to develop future generations of leaders through guidance and example. Community fund-raising made these awards possible.

Alexia Robles won a $500 scholarship from the Knights of Columbus Council #9995.

Brooke Larned won a $500 Lacey Balmer Oldland Memorial Fund Scholarship because she exemplified the same traits and ambitions that made Oldland a special person.

Baylie MacRae won a $500 Lions Club of Payson Memorial Scholarship, which is presented to a most deserving, all-around student who shows promise to be of great service to humanity.

Hannah Bielke and Jenna Robertson each won $750 scholarships from the Loyal Order of the Moose Lodge 852 and Women of the Moose Lodge 852.

The following students who are beginning an education in the human health care fields received a Mogollon Health Alliance Human Health Career Scholarship: Kayla Morgan, $200; Christina Deaton, Cydney Figueroa, Laughlin Potvin, Nichole Rislund and Jessica Wilembrecht, $500; Brooke Larned, Skye McNeeley and Meha Sharma, $600; and Ryan Hintze, $700.

The following students won Mogollon Sporting Association Ted Pettet Scholarships promoting youth, conservation and wildlife in Gila County: Cydney Figueroa, $2,000; Ridge Halenar and Dakoda Wholly, $1,000; Skye McNeeley, $100.

Dakoda Wholly won a $500 Orion Scholarship from the Orion Project of Payson Rotary to encourage students who display exemplary dedication to educational achievement.

Christina Breen, Skye McNeeley and Cassidy Ritter-Hayn have each won $1,000 Payson APS Employee Scholarships. Local APS employees contribute money each payday to the scholarship foundation to provide annual scholarships.

Troy Wayland has won a $700 Payson Choral Society scholarship for outstanding vocal ability, to be used for furthering musical studies.

Noah Sweet has won a $1,000 Payson RimStones Rock Club Earth Science/Geology Scholarship to support local students who desire to further their education in those fields.

The following students have won Payson Rodeo Committee Scholarships: Cassidy Hayn, $2,000; Dakoda Wholly, Cydney Figueroa, Meha Sharma, Tyler Savage and Nichole Rislund, $1,500.

Jade Berryman, Cassidy Hayn and Troy Wayland will each receive $1,000 Payson Rotary Club Scholarships.

Kaitlin Murphy and Tyler Savage will each receive $500 Chance Amon Memorial Scholarships from the Rim Country Optimist Club.

Sheana Nelsen has received a $500 Beth Champie-Laura Mehterian Scholarship from the Rim Country Optimist Club.

The following students have earned scholarships from a Lip Sync Contest held by the local Rotary, Optimist and Kiwanis organizations: Skye McNeeley, $1,000; Troy Wayland and Christina Breen, $500.

Shelby Hill has won a $1,500 Tonto Basin Kiwanis Club Scholarship in recognition of scholastic achievement and dedication to excellence in education.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Requires free registration

Posting comments requires a free account and verification.